My views on Pro Wrestling from the East and West

Sunday, August 08, 2004

Win a tourney, Get a parade!

New Japan's annual G-1 Climax tour kicked off today with some interesting results. Before I get to that though, It's interesting to mention that not only will the winner of this year's G-1 win 2,000,000 yen, but also a new Cadillac SRX. And if that's not enough, the winner will also be paraded through town! They really are trying to pass this off as the biggest G-1 in history.

So who will win it? Here are eight guys who possibilly WON'T win it:

Block A: Shinsuke Nakamura, Yuji Nagata, Katsuyori Shibata and Genichiro Tenryu.
Block B: Hiroshi Tanahashi, Hiroyoshi Tenzan, Kensuke Sasaki and Manabu Nakanishi.

Why won't any of the above win it? Cause throughout it's illustrious history, Day 1 winners like the eight mentioned above have NEVER won the G-1 in the end. The guy who probably came closest to breaking that curse was Pro-Wrestling NOAH ace Jun Akiyama last year, but came up short losing to Tenzan in the longest running finals in it's history. Tenzan himself was on the losing end throughout the opening rounds.

So here are the names of the 8 guys who could possibilly win it this year unless someone from the above breaks the "curse" of the G-1:

Block A: Yutaka Yoshie, Blue Wolf, Masahiro Chono and Minoru Suzuki.
Block B: Osamu Nishimura, Koji Kanemoto, Togi (Shinya) Makabe and Yoshihiro Takayama.

Then again, looking at those names, looks like someone indeed from the Day 1 winners blocks could be in line to break the curse and make a name for himself. And with Antonio Anoki going to be in attendance for the finals (And possibilly the PM of Japan), It will definately be a big deal who wins this year.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home